Papergang July 2016

It’s quite refreshing knowing that I actually am not to blame for this being late  as my box got lost in the mail and I had to wait for a replacement *tiny semi-victory dance*. The Papergang customer service were reasonably quick to reply and surprisingly speedy at the replacement so points for them! My previous boxes were absolutely fricking awesome but I feel like due to my personal preferences this one fell a bit short. You’ll see what I mean.20160805-_DSC0835

*Papergang is monthly subscription box that costs £9.60 per month. If you like this and want to spoil yourself too, please use my referral link. I don’t think you get a discount, but every 2 friends that I refer I get a free box sent to me. So it’s a nice thing to do. And everyone likes nice people. Be nice.

THE BAD

In the territory of Give me my Cash-monies back Momos (from 1 to 5, 5 being the worst)
momo.png

20160805-_DSC0856The Screen Printed Wooden Clipboard by William Branton (£6), while adorable (you’ll hear that a lot here) is pretty much useless to me. I don’t usually use anything smaller than an A5, as a girl with a massive hand writing this just frustrates me. Not to mention that the nails at the back are uneven and if I to put this on the table it would wreck it. 3 disapproving Momos. Decoration it is.

20160805-_DSC0858Riso Printed Calendor by William Branton (£1.95). Firs of all, how on earth is this £1.95, I call that bullshit. Secondly, not that this was intentional on Papergang team’s part, but due to unfortunate circumstances I got this at the end of first week of August and so naturally the 1/4th of this little calendar is already useless to me. I’m sorry but it’s 4 Momos and this will stay nicely put on the clipboard for the decorative purposes or at least  until the first de-cluttering. Boo.

 

THE MEH

The category where Zeus and Momo have a party and don’t really have any strong opinions about anything else.

ca.png

20160805-_DSC0846Now to be fair, lots of people would find these 3 adorable Notebooks by William Branton (£5.95) amazing, I mean look at these! But for me personally this is very much a definition of meh for 2 reasons. Remember that time 5 seconds ago that I said I don’t really use anything mini when it comes to notebooks, well this is very much a mini. Secondly, the pages are blank!20160805-_DSC0848 I can’t doodle and my writing needs any and all guidance that it can get to stay even so this is just a no for me. I will be giving these away during my next giveaway to some lovely people who will get more joy out of these than I would. They are really adorable though!

THE GOOD

Anything from 2 to 4 Very Curiously Supportive Zeuses

Untitled Untitled Untitled Untitled

20160805-_DSC0855The On Point Pencil by Jade Walsh (£0.50) is..well, a pencil. I like pencils therefore I like this pencil. It’s a blue pencil. Pencil pencil pencil. 3 Zeuses.

 

THE BEST

My top pick from the box: 4 or 5 Very Curiously Supportive Zeuses

Untitled Untitled Untitled UntitledUntitled

20160805-_DSC0849Honestly there was not much of a competition for the favourite pick and if I’m choosing Greeting Cards (£2.50 each) it’s a clear indication that it wasn’t all that great. I don’t tend to use cards much but I always appreciate some. I’m in looooove with the tiger one and the Pugtato is obviously hilarious (I used that to send it to my giveaway winner because I thought she might giggle too), I don’t care too much about the Good luck – you’re going to need it- one but still, these are quite expensive so it’s nice having some backups.

 

VERDICT

It pains me to admit it (but I’m always honest!) that I was deeply let down by this box. It pains me because I have been utterly and blindly in love with it, and I am sure I will be again but this box was just not great at all. If it was me in a shop would I have picked up any of those? Nope. Will I use most of these? Nope. Are they still adorable and I aww’ed at most of it out loud whilst the only one in the room? You bet I did!

This is definitely not enough to get me unsubscribed and I be the next one will be great (please be great!). You know that inner logic that once in a while there needs to be a shit box for it to be great afterwards. Well, let’s assume that the odds of the next one being crappy statistically dropped after this so yay! Always finding things to celebrate.

I believe the box was:

WHY, NO, STAPH!

REALLY POOR

MEH

SETTLING ON PASSABLE

ABOVE AVERAGE 

REALLY ENJOYABLE

AWESOME

PERFECTION IN A BOX

*

What are your thoughts on the box?

Let’s connect! Follow me on Instagram, Bloglovin & now also on Twitter  @SatOnWed – because the full name didn’t fit haha. 9 times out of 10 I will jump into following you back, unless you’re that 1 out of 10 robot accounts *squints suspiciously*.

Posted by

Hey there! Welcome to my Everything Blog. You know those lovely organised people who have a niche? Well that's not me, my blog is just like my mind, jumping from one thought to another. Sorry (but not too sorry). I have a degree in Psychology and am a proud owner of two amazing kittens Zeus and Momo, although thoroughly a dog person! I love cooking, I surely love eating, reading and exploring. I have created this blog with hope that I can lighten up the mid-week Wednesday with some Saturday chill vibes. Hopefully you enjoy your Saturdays On Wednesdays as much as I enjoy mine. With Love, G xoxo

23 thoughts on “Papergang July 2016

                1. I did that when I was creating this, they give you the option at the very beginning although I know people who did that later on. I’m not sure where you find it later but it will be one of the options xx it’s much cheaper than going self hosted but you still don’t get all the freedom for customisation which is the biggest shame 😥

                  Liked by 1 person

  1. I can completely understand why you were disappointed with this box. To a certain level, I do agree with you. Having been subscribed to Papergang from the very first box, I can say this is the worst one they’ve come out with, but that does mean that next months can only go up?!
    I love tiny things, so did aww out loud, and I think the notebooks are perfect, for someone like me who is constantly doodling, or trying to draw a diagram to explain something, or aimlessly scribbling, which is what I do… a lot.
    I’ll tell you what I’m disappointed with. In my unboxing post, I literally said something along the lines of “I love that they’re never occasion specific, so really, they are perfect.” about the greetings card. They’ve just gone and ruined that for me, as the card you got was sort of occasion specific. boo.
    Fingers crossed for some marvellous marble next time! 😀 xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment